Beauty Review: Revlon Mascara | Beauty

“The only drama I need in life, is in my lashes.”

A few months ago, Revlon launched 5 new masacara’s. They were extremely talked about on social media and I really did want to try them. I finally got down to purchasing a few from the collection and I thought I’d do a review on them.
*Disclaimer: I naturally do have quite long lashes and mascara’s almost always do work for me. I have tried to make this review as all-rounded and fair as possible by trying them out on a few friends that have shorter lashes and recording their thoughts. 


Price and Purchase:

I purchased these on sale for R120 at Clicks Pharmacy. These are available at multiple stores including Dischem, Foschini and some online stores. I have noticed quite a few sales and promotions with these lately. I find the price quite affordable- especially since there is a good range. 

Packaging:
These come in a sleek matte black container with different colour tops to represent the different types of mascara. I think the packaging is quite simple but still looks good.

My thoughts:
I purchased 3 out of the 5 available and here are my thoughts on each.

Revlon Mascara Ultimate All in One:

Claims: Revlon Ultimate All-In-One Mascara is an innovative, high-impact formula that delivers 5 lash-transforming benefits. It gives your lashes volume, length, definition, lift and intense colour. The Revlon Power Mini Brush™ leaves no lash behind. Choosing the one has never been so simple.

My Thoughts:There are a few things I absolutely love about this mascara. It definitely does give my lashes great length, volume and drama.  The small bristle makes it easy to really get into my lashes and ensure that every lash is throughly coated. What I don’t like about this mascara is that it makes my lashes look extremely clumpy. I initially thought this was a problem with me alone, but a few of my friends had the same problem. If clumpy lashes are your thing, this shouldn’t be a problem.  One other issue I had was removing this mascara. Even with a waterproof makeup wipe and some coconut oil, I struggled to remove the mascara and lost a few lashes in the process. 


Friends thoughts: I tested this mascara on a friend with medium-length lashes. With 2 coats, her lashes were significantly longer and thicker. They also appeared much more curled. With 2 layers, we noticed a bit of clumpiness- which increased as we applied more coats. My friend found it quite comfortable, but struggled to remove it. She would purchase it after trying it out since she was very impressed.


Revlon Mascara Dramatic Definition:


Claims: Revlon Dramatic Definition Mascara comes with a special tiered applicator brush that helps to separate and coat every lash for unrivalled definition. Lashes are left looking bolder, more intense and drenched in smooth, clump-free colour.


My thoughts: From all three, this one has got to be my favorite. The bristles on the brush are thin enough to really get into my lashes and coat them well. My lashes are separated and not clumpy which I love. One coat of this mascara does wonders to my eyes and really makes it look as if I’m wearing a pair of false lashes. Thus does not make my lashes feel heavy at all. They remove so easily with a makeup wipe. 

Friends Thoughts: My friend has relatively short lashes but wanted to intensify them. She really was amazed at this mascara and though it really made her eyes look wider and more awake. The mascara looked beautiful when applied to her top and bottom lashes. She really loved the finished look and wanted to purchase this mascara for herself. She found that the mascara removed easily and did not damage her lashes [See picture below].



Revlon Mascara Super Length:

href=”https://styleunboxedblog.files.wordpress.com/2017/02/img_1004.jpg”>

Claims: Revlon Super Length Mascara has a luscious lengthening formula that glides on easily and builds quickly for a beautiful, extended lash look. The Lash Stretch Brush™ has long bristles that are designed to deliver plush length and a tapered tip for coating even the smallest lashes.

My thoughts: Whenever I’m shopping for mascara’s, I always look for mascaras that can lengthen my lashes. To me, long and clump-free lashes are EVERYTING! I have mixed feelings with this mascara. It definitely lives up to the claim of lengthening the lashes, which is great. I personally do find that it can be quite heavy and clump-y. I love my lashes to be separated and these definitely do not leave them separated. That is however, a personal issue and is not a fault on Revlon’s part. I also love that these remove quite easily- since nothing is worse than tugging out half my lashes in an attempt to remove mascara. The bristle on this brush is a little too thick for me personally since I prefer thin mascara applicators, but that too, is a personal problem. The mascara lasts all day and doesn’t look any less impressive in the evening. 

Friend’s Thoughts: One of my friends with shorter lashes volunteered to let me try this out on their lashes. She was absolutely in love with the results and was amazed at the length of her lashes. Her lash length had almost doubled with the application of this mascara which was amazing. She definitely wants to purchase one of these for herself after seeing the results [See picture below].

Overall Recommendations:

I have to be 100% honest- I didnt think these mascara’s would work as great as they did. For the price, they’re definitely worth it. The great selection means there’s a mascara for you regardless of your lash type. For the most part, they live up to their claims. My friends were in love with it and all of them wanted to purchase some for themselves- which is a good indicator of how well the product actually worked. 

Have you tried these mascaras? What are your thoughts?

Shoutout to my squad for helping me test these mascara’s out!

Please don’t forget to to click the follow button at the bottom of the screen for notification of blog posts (I post 3 times a week!)

All my love
Raeesa

3 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Revlon Mascara | Beauty

Leave a Reply

