Spa Day with Shades of Mink | Beauty & Lifestyle 

“Relaxation is the ultimate hobby.”

I’ve always been obsessed with spa’s and facials and all things relaxation. To me, there’s nothing more enjoyable than sitting with a face mask, getting a manicure and massage done and sipping on some lemonade.

The appearance of face masks- most commonly sheet masks- in the beauty industry has revolutionized over the past few months. Everyone who’s anyone has been using face masks religiously and of course, I wouldn’t be left out.

When Shades of Mink, a luxury South African Brand contacted me to send over some sheet masks, I was over the moon. I literally couldn’t wait to try out their masks. They stock international sheet masks at insanely affordable prices and offer delivery throughout South Africa. Here are my thoughts:

P.S. Stick around to the end for a very special surprise! 



1. Intensive Lifting Black Eye Mask
The first thing that went through my mind when I seen this was “OHMYGOD, it’s thee coolest mask I have ever seen.” And till now, that’s still going through my mind.
Claims: This unique 3D cut and multi-point injection weave helps the mask conform to the skin. 180 degree lifting technology helps skin restore lift. Makes eye contours look younger and firmer. Intensively moisturises. 

2. Caviar Whitening Mask 
Claims: Caviar extract, known as ocean diamond is an excellent anti-oxidant which renews skin. Gives moisture ands firming by repairing and reviving damaged skin.
My thoughts: I don’t know if this has anything to do with the weather, but when I tried this mask, it felt really cool on my skin. It has a barely-there scent which is great for those of you who don’t like scented products. I applied the mask to a clean face and let it sit for 20 minutes. Just like with all the masks, this one was soaked in liquid which made it perfect for really moisturising and brightening the face. When I removed the mask, I rubbed the excess serum in and then applied a moisturiser. While the mask itself didn’t hydrate my skin much, it definitely brightened up my cheek and forehead area. I also loved how radiant and Alice my skin looked.

3. Grape Seed Instant Brightening Mask
Claims: Grape seed extract prevents and smoothens wrinkles and aging. It is an anti-oxidant to stabilize collagen. Added plant extracts enhance and supppement moisture.
My thoughts: Upon opening the packaging, the first thing I noticed was the gorgeous, almost-floral scent. It was so soft and sweet, and really contributed to making me feel like I was in a spa. I also initially noticed that the mask was soaking in so much of liquid- which is really good since it makes it more effective. The mask was easy to put on and I was happy to notice that unlike many masks I’ve tried, it didn’t tear when taken out of the packaging. I left the mask on my face for 15 minutes. During that time, I could really feel the liquid soaking into my skin. The scent was very light but it was very refreshing. The mask felt cooling on my skin.
It claimed to moisturise the skin- which it definitely did. My skin was softer and more supple, which I loved.  The mask did claim to prevent wrinkles, but with just one use, it’s hard to tell if that’s true. Based on the way my skin felt after just one use, I really would like to try it out more.


4. Provence Lavender Soothing Mask 
Claims: Lavender extract balances sebum secretion. The fragrance calms and relaxes the mind. Specifically formulated for sensitive skin to soothe. Improves skin elasticity for a smooth and radiant look. 

My thoughts: Lavender is one of my favourite scents of all time, so I was extremely excited about this mask. I was impressed with the packaging- since the mask was folded neatly and did not tear upon use. It really delivered with the scent- and helped relax me completely. After applying the mask for 20 minutes, my skin felt hydrated and soft. I also noticed a glow to my skin. With extended use, I’m convinced this mask will be brilliant for my skin. 

If you’ve stuck around till now, HOORAH! I have a special discount code that you can use at Shades of Mink to get some $$ off your purchase! This discount code is only valid until tomorrow ONLY- so make sure you get your orders in NOW and use “StyleUnboxed” at checkout! Trust me, you deserve some TLC!

All my love, Raeesa

Leave a Reply

